Security guard laws differ per state in the U.S. The California Bureau of Security & Investigative Services is responsible for registering the security guards that are active in the State of California. So, when you decide to work as a security guard, you will be interacting with the bureau a lot of times. For example, you will need to take the course to get your license to carry a firearm in case you decide to become an armed security guard. Other state-mandated pieces of training are also given by the Bureau’s certified facilities across the state.
California security guard law also states that you must be a U.S citizen or have a permanent alien status to carry a weapon as a security guard. On top of that, the California security guard law has set the minimum age at 18 for security guards.
Professionally Trained Security Guards
Security guards are well-known for their training. This is not surprising since a security guard is required to complete at least 40 hours of training on a timeline set by the Bureau. Before going on an assignment, you will have to complete 8 hours of training. 16 hours of training should be completed within 30 days of assignment and the remaining set of 16 hours should be completed within 6 months.
As already mentioned, the Bureau is responsible for setting the guidelines for armed security guards. If you want to be an armed security guard wearing a firearm or baton, you will need 14 hours of training including both classroom and range shooting practice. Only then will the Bureau provide you the permit. Once you have the permit, you will need to re-qualify every two years at a facility that is certified by the Bureau.
Lastly, the State of California requires to have a criminal background check processed by the California Department of Justice and the FBI. This can be expedited if you are a California resident. Contact us now for more information.